ShoeAddict, MakeUpAddict and FoodAddict’s guide to : Formal Event at Palace of the Golden Horses


Basically its just prom, only with so-so food

Since I had a case study quiz this afternoon and need to really finish off my thesis, so I’m letting it out of my system. Personally rarely do everything at once but this is the special occasion for us, the seniors, and hence I had do something about it.

ShoeAddict

I hate this shoe as much as I love it. My foot deformities from wearing tight school shoes seems to haunt me… I had worn this with tights and it slide right off so I’m wearing this with my barefoot. I last long since I didn’t slipped much since I wore…

RM<8

and

Scholl’s Foldable Ballet Shoes RM <25

The padding helps me survive most of the time I was on my feet. Its hellish just just hellish.. I swear I’ll stick to wedges and boots. This is the last pump I wear.

Through the nights, it helped with the group pictures but some of the moments like this….

I’m still short even 5 inches higher… damn their heights….

…made me feel self-conscious again…. 😛

For the rest of the night, I switch my heels for the ballet flats for walking and switch the flats for heels for pictures and since no one bother that I’m in pain on the shoes, so who cares right?

The ballet flats is surprisingly sturdy, but I wouldn’t recommend them for daily wear. Its too flat, so the heels cushion help a lot but generally its a good emergency shoes.

Cushion stuff? hmm…. It made the shoe tolerable. The fact that its washable is a plus.

MakeUpAddict


 

Blur-faced Moi

I got a free makeover voucher from Lancome and get myself made up by them. Kinda freaks me out since Lancome was having a promotion in the middle of KLCC and I watch people watch me. Not sure if I like the end result since I’m used to pro-makeup but the MA girl made me more decent than the rest. I didn’t get the photo-op that the rest around me gotten themselves into… ick…. very unprepared… plus I get to see the funny-disgust look from an Arabian guy who was watching a girl getting her picture taken…. lol.. priceless…

Plus, this is much better than the too much blusher I noticed from all the customers…. fuh….

But the foundation made my face more redder by the end of the night, it slicks rather badly. If you want to buy eyeshadows, just don’t get it from Lancome, you get better result using Elianto. And that was just RM5.

I like the mascara.. except that the MA didn’t curl my lashes and so when she layered the lower lashes, I seem to have same length eyelashes except my lower lashes seems to be much longer than the upper lashes.

Basically, If you get Lancome makeover and you are used to grueling hours on the stiff stool with dozen types of brushes to blend your eyes… you won’t expect much from this.

NOTE TO SELF : Stick to MAC please.

And btw, I do have comments on how I always look goth…. technically, I tried lolita but its not me. And I tried normal, but it wash me out and made me look and feel tired (and somehow the girls like seeing me selekeh like this… Whatever contradiction they get from it, I understand their inner need and dissatisfaction and I wouldn’t elaborate more on psychoanalyzing personalities)

and truthfully, I’m not goth in the truest sense. Heavy eyeliners doesnt mean I’m goth. I like to think I’m a vampire but honestly Malaysian ‘goth’ society are lame.. If you see those people in Berjaya Times Square, thats not goth…. and my inner darkness didn’t like associating it with them.

FoodAddict

Yesterday was an adventure, I was on the Putra LRT line, then on the Monorail line and then Putra LRT line again and Putra LRT line to STAR LRT line to Sungai Besi. Gotten a taxi and RM5 later, I’m here.

Palace of The Golden Horses


 

came from AsiaRooms.com because when I get there, its night and my cam is bad for nighttime cams

After several turns and corners, I found myself in the dining hall with the stage and all. Could have done it with silver and gold balloons but thats another story.

Majority of the night is spend in the chaos of final year students with beloved lectures having loads of pictures taken. My feet hurt so I lay off most of it. Simply soaking the environment is enough.

and now to the final judgement…

The Menu

The only thing I like was the fish dish and the soup… because the fish sauce seems to taste like watered down commercial Thai sauce (Rosdet has ruined my palate for generic Thai food… huhu) but it was tasty enough to make me finish the last rice leftover with a gusto and the soup was like the packet ones except with mushrooms. Anything with mushrooms deserved thumbs ups.

The desert is fine too. As expected.

…the rest is rather forgettable…

The lamb sucks… I like Hale’s even more. Seriously, if you are the malay cuisine chef to this hotel, you should boil the lamb first and THEN put the spices over it. Else, it was just a pile of hard meat. If Kampung Baru’s “Hale’s Kitchen” can make it juicy like that. You can.

And it isn’t spicy enough to make is palatable. I like my lamb juicy and a bit unhealthy. This one is only healthy since I avoid it. And later I found out a gunk was left on my tooth and I didn’t notice it except the flash did…. horror!!

The chicken? Honestly, I lived near Ayamas for most of my life. And personally Ayam Panggang Ayamas is much better than this.

The squid dish is so-so. Except that they have to cut it in huge pieces and still have the capsule on it making me having to bit it down since the knife and the fork can’t cut the flesh through.

The vegetables are… weird… and taste like it have been cooked first rather than the last where it stay fresh. Since its not fresh.

Honestly, one could determined how good the chef and hotel restaurant is by doing simpler and moderate dishes. And there should be more review being done since this one is a miss and made me want to go back to the last year dinner at Grand Pacific Hotel where I had the most delicious Lemon-Sauced Fried Fillet Fish Bits and Mandarin-slice Creme Brulee. Both is the first time I’ve tried and they were really delish!!!

Considering how much I had to go through to reach Sri Kembangan and face the jam near the horse race rink (crazy gambling people I know…)… Palace of the Golden Horses rates the same as the Crown Hotel’s experience in 2009 and does not fair much worser than the Vistana I went during my first year.

Highlights of the night : Everyone is in camwhoring mood. Pak Kas’s singing… (last song is sad… 😦 since Pak Kas is a year younger than Mum, so he’s going retire next year) and Me won a huge hamper by saying “Prof Jamal” and watching Dr Balkis grinning at me on stage “Lajunya pakai high heels” 😛

P/s : I lost my roses 😦 one is from Damon Salvatore…. :(( cis.. it must have fallen off from my bag

P/p/s : I’m nearly broke… hmm.. atleast I topupped the touch n go card, so I can always go back home. So, RM2.50 Nasi Lemak Carpark for a week. Oh well, not complaining.
P/p/p/s : Talking about food made me hungry now…

One response to “ShoeAddict, MakeUpAddict and FoodAddict’s guide to : Formal Event at Palace of the Golden Horses

Leave a comment